Homework for Thursday

1. Read the article on Ringtones, “Ring My Bell,” which can be accessed here:
http://www.newyorker.com/critics/music/articles/050307crmu_music
Once you have read it, leave a comment on this blog posting. Note: the first time you comment, you’ll need to set up an account. Also, I have the blog set so that I review first comments from each account, so your comment will not appear immediately. 
 
2. Download and install the following required software:
Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
 
Finale NotePad (2006 version for compatibility with our lab): http://www.finalemusic.com/store/search.aspx
 
Sibelius Scorch Plugin: http://www.sibelius.com/cgi-bin/download/index.pl
Visit this site to see if Scorch is working (Click search the collection and view a score, which should load in the browser): http://kodaly.hnu.edu/ or click this to choose from the whole collection.
 
Open Office or NeoOffice (Neo for Mac OS X): Open Office, http://www.openoffice.org/; NeoOffice: http://www.neooffice.org/neojava/en/index.php

If you have any problems, email Matt or Adam (see the handout for our email). 
Explore posts in the same categories: Do and Due

36 Comments on “Homework for Thursday”

  1. Sara Goodman Says:

    I was very intrigued by this article. I had no idea that ringtones make up such a large part of the recorded music market. I still find it strange that someone would pay as much as $3 for a ringtone that does not include the whole song, considering most complete recorded tracks are 99 cents on ITunes. I also find it interesting that downloading your own music on to your phone as a ringtone does not violate copyright. With the current writers strike regarding the unfair use of their content on file-sharing websites like YouTube; I would argue that this is a form of file-sharing and previous copyright laws such as the Digital Millennium Copyright Act should be revised to address the new world of cell phone ring tones. One could accurately argue that the artists, recording labels, and producers are losing their hard earned royalties from people ripping tunes off of their computers and on to their phones. I am also surprised that ASCAP has not been involved in this. There are strict fines and penalties for reproducing songs or musical works and ASCAP is famous for getting people in trouble for violating copyright laws on their music.

  2. mus243 Matt Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    I won’t be responding to every comment, but I thought I would put in a few cents’ worth of my knowledge here.

    When the author talks about legally creating a ringtone, he is talking about using music you have legally purchased and have a license to use. If you have purchased a CD, you have a license to use that music. You can play in your car, or house, or computer, copy it to a cassette or iPod, etc. and in the interpretation he offers, the ringtone is another example of that kind of use, one that is not a violation of copyright.

    As you will see when we talk about creative writing copywriting class, copyright law is deliberately ambiguous and highly problematic, and there may be other interpretations of law as it pertains to ringtones. That said, the New Yorker is a very reputable source, and they fact check everything they publish extensively. I have a lot of faith that their interpretation is correct and valuable.

    -Matt

  3. eadunne2 Says:

    This was an interesting article. I think it says a lot about the development of our society that our art is so important in defining who we are. Lots of people have a problem with a teenager taking hours to decide what clothes to wear, or what ring tone to use, but I think it’s cool, and more than that, important. Pop culture defines our generation;it defines our tastes in music, fashion, and dance is our culture. I love that that woman spent so much time deciding on a ring tone. Music is one of the most versatile forms of self expression. From cds, to tapes, to garage bands, to live venues, to youtube and itunes, to ringtones, America is finding more ways to integrate our music into our daily lives. As a future music educator that gives me hope and encouragement. People say the culture is abandoning ‘classical’ music, and so the job market is dwindling. Stories like this remind me that culture will never be culture without rhythm, people will never be people without their music. We define ourselves by our music, and I can’t think of a more expressive medium to help convey who we are to the world.

  4. elarson5 Says:

    This article was very thought provoking. It is interesting, but true that even older men consider their ring tones to be an expression of identity today. It made me consider several other modern forms of expression that are a result of technology such as: Facebook, blogs, away messages, and even screen names themselves. I feel like these have all become principal forms of social expression for my generation. I do not know many people my age without a Facebook and a screen name. It’s funny!
    The way that the author stereotyped teens and their ring tones was very accurate and stood out to me when reading the article. In addition, I was surprised to find that
    in parts of Asia ring tones now outsell some types of CDs. I knew it was a large industry, but I didn’t realize the enormity of its size.

  5. katiehenry Says:

    I enjoyed this article. It makes perfect sense, and I think the author was right on. I know I have at least 4 or 5 different real music ringtones on my phone that I use for different people. I know the rest of the world is with me because I couldn’t tell you the last time I heard a traditional beeping cell phone ring. Over the past few years, whenever you are sitting in class, and your buddy’s cell phone rings, it is not a generic beep, it is the latest 50 Cent tune or Rascal Flatts ballad. In high school, everyone would sit around the lunch table while comparing ringtones or buying new ones to personalize their phone and make sure they were acceptable to their friends. I think your choice in ringtone has become almost as prevalent as your choice in clothing, as far as how you want the world to perceive you. If you have a ringtone that is typically thought of as “old” or “lame”, you will probably get some strange looks, as a person would get if they were wearing clothing that was terribly out of style.

  6. travismarkley Says:

    Personally I do not see the alure of ring tones. Most of the time my phone is set to vibrate anyway. The sounds my phone does make are the generic noises that come with it. I just think that paying for something that is extremely unnecessary is a waste. But no offense to anyone who does use ringtones. I actually do have a ringback though, but the only reason is because my girlfriend wanted me to. I just think people should stop buying ringtones and make a purchase of an i-pod of mp3 player. That way you can hear all the full versions of songs and when your phone vibrates you can use it for what it is there for . . . talking to people.

  7. akaplan4 Says:

    I too, found this to be a very interesting article. One part that I wanted to comment on is the paragraph where they talk about which genre of music ringtone is the most popular. Like we all know, when we get to that all-too-familiar ringtone menu, you scroll down through the different genres, usually consiting of rock, pop, hip-hop, heavy metal, etc. I remember a time not to long ago where, like the article states, jazz, soundtracks, country, and classical used to be part of that main menu. Now, after clicking the “next” button 3 or 4 times, classical still doesn’t come up. You have to know exactly what you want and search by name to get a classical ringtone. My ringtone is the Gigue from the G major Bach Cello Suite, and I only new that it existed because I typed “cello” into the search box.

    Finally, it does seem that our generation is the generation of personal expression, especially technological expression…but the amazing thing is that it’s not just our generation who uses it; we are using the technology to close the generation gap and using anecdotes like ringtones to become closer to our parents and grandparents. My parents, whose household TV’s are still from 1987, have succumbed to this ringtone phenomena, even my grandparents have too! These different forms or expression seem to be bringing people together.

  8. mikekohfeld Says:

    Wow…I had no idea so much was put into creating a ringtone. I just took it for granted, I guess. I really like the idea of being able to create your own ringtone because I never use the ones that are “most popular.” I tried recording my own at one point by holding the phone speaker to a stereo speaker. I know, it’s a pretty ghetto method of making a ringtone. Of course, the result was really poor quality.

    However, iTunes now has an option where you can purchase a ringtone from iTunes. I can’t remember the price…I think they go for 99 cents, the same as a full song. In one sense that seems silly to spend the same on a full-length song as on a ringtone. The quality is probably good if it’s from iTunes and there is probably a wider variety. But, I haven’t tried one yet. I don’t think my phone would be able to recieve it anyway (only one more year and I get an upgrade!!!).

    Apple offering ringtones on iTunes certainly shows how valuable the ringtone market really is when you think about it after reading this article.

  9. chiefjenyva Says:

    Reading this article reminded me of our discussion in class on Tuesday. There’s just no denying that technology is becoming a HUGE part of today’s society and that it is effecting the music world immensely. I agree with the part where they said that it was hard to scroll down pages of ringtones, it makes it impossible to find a song you want if you have the category wrong. Of course, that might be somthing that helps us learn which songs are considered what genre. I like the fact that parents are getting more “hip” when it comes to cell phones, my parents don’t buy them cause they don’t want to get addicted and spend loads of money…so my Dad has a barking dog sound…yeah, oh dad…but we do a lot of text messaging. The communication of this century is becoming absolutely insane! I will admit it’s a bit inconvenient because you can’t get a minute where you can’t be contacted.

    Anyway, back to the music thing…I had no idea that cell phones had that much if anything to do with music sales! I always thought ring tones were just a little something added to your phone to express yourself…like a cover. I do agree with the earlier blogs thought when they said that they rarely heard a regular ring anymore. They’re even coming out with music phones now, that act as an iPod or something. Technology has just advanced so much, and you don’t need to be a computer or filming major to know it…even studying music we get to see how it’s changed over the years. As for tomorrow, I have absolutely NO IDEA how we could possibly make a ring tone…it’s just…intangable to me. (sorry for the bad spelling)

  10. meroth2 Says:

    I really enjoy ringtones. The problem is, I don’t really think of my phone as a form of expression. I do see how many people use their phone as an outlet to express themselves, especially the less artistic, who often have few other outlets of expression. Although my phone has the capabilities to recieve ringtones, I have one ringtone for everyone that calls me and that works for me. I often wonder what sort of message the people are trying to send out when they have a certain ringtone. It almost has become a sort of status symbol, showing that this person has a good taste in music and has transferred this taste to their phone.

    I am proud, however, of the versatility of music. As people talk about how music, specifically classical music, is dying, ringtones are giving music a fighting chance. Ringtones even possibly open a brand new field of ringtone composers? Maybe? Something to think about . . . gotta go! Phone’s ringing! *my humps . . . my lovely lady lumps . . .* just kidding.

  11. mschwol2 Says:

    I found this article really interesting. I never realized how popular downloading ringtones was. I have never found cell phones to be a huge form of personal expression and I have never downloaded a specialized ring tone for my phone (granted my cell phone is really old and doesn’t accept ringtones). It was funny how the author spent so much time deliberating over what his ringtone should be. The younger generations I look at tend to be more and more for technological personal expression. For example, all of my younger cousins dowload ringtones, and change their ringtones often in order to have the most recent pop hit to notify them in order to keep their popularity up at school. Which in my opinion is pretty pathetic if kids are starting to base their friendships off of cell phone ringtones.

    Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s really cool that technology is allowing us to put a song that we like as our ringtone opening up new windows for music to be in, I just don’t see the reason to spend excessive amounts of money on ringtones in order to roatate the song that notifies you of a incoming phonecall.

  12. clarinadals Says:

    I never got into the whole ring tone thing. My phone is older and generally on vibrate. When it’s not I just have the generic ring tone that my phone came with. If I had all these ring tones on my phone I would use them, but I would not go out of my way, look them up on the internet, and download them to my phone. I do think it’s cool that people find ring tones that they think are an accurate representation of themselves. Maybe I will have the patience for it someday. I also thought it was kind of funny that the author compared the excerpt of a song that is made into a ring tone taking away from the actual song just like film sound took away “the perfect trinity of the oncoming train, the imperilled heroine, and the trembling upper register of an upright piano.” I thought this was a bit of a stretch, but it also put things in perspective and helped to make the authors point. Although I thought it was a stretch, I liked it because it made you think.

  13. hornplaya88 Says:

    Ring tones are a great thing. They let us take our favorite music and ship it right onto our phone for our, and others enjoyment. I would buy more except for the prices verizon charges me! I was surprised at how our very own ring tones could be created LEGALLY. After Matt explained the whole licensing deal, it made a bit more sense. I do believe our ringtone says a lot about us as far as our personality. It definitely says something about your interests at least. The author also accurately concluded that kids spend a lot of time selecting what ring tones to download. Too many times I catch my self listening to several and debating which one to buy. I hope I can get a phone that can use bluetooth so I can start making my own tones for free!

  14. ndougla2 Says:

    I must admit, reading this article immediately took me back to one of my more embarrassing moments in life while waiting for an oil change. I was in the Jiffy Lube waiting area, reading six month old magazines along with three middle aged men who were also waiting for their cars. From the silence my phone roared into life (I accidentally had it on the loudest setting), booming my ringtone “It’s Raining Men” and causing two of the men to smile widely and the third to actually laugh out loud. Should ringtones be a form of self expression, as the article suggests, I would prefer not to think about what kind of person those three strangers thought I was.

    I had another incident, thankfully less embarrassing, at Schnuck’s Grocery Store. I was perusing the dairy aisle when my phone burst into the Price is Right theme. One mother was so excited to hear it that she exclaimed, “THE PRICE IS RIGHT!” and immediately engaged me in conversation about my cell provider. And I thought that I was a big Bob Barker fan.

    Anyway, both cases I think to some extent prove and even expand the point of the article. Not only are ring tones (albeit somewhat mundane) forms of self expression; in my experiences, they linked me to other people – even strangers! I will also admit that I have mooched ring tones off of friends, which has many times spurred conversation on popular and classical music, as well as the “how-should-I-label-myself-with 25-seconds-of-song” debate. Odd as it is, it seems to me that ring tones are one more way that cell phones “connect” us to people, as well as cause us to consider the music we label ourselves with and share with others.

  15. bkenis2 Says:

    I never got into the ringtone thing either. I don’t really have any interest at all in spending the time or the money to find a ringtone that I will probably get sick of soon anyway. Not that I have anything against people that do find ringtones. Everyone has there own thing. I debated getting a ringtone of Will Farrell quotes from Anchorman after I heard a ringtone of it, but I didn’t. Something I didn’t read about in the article, or at least didn’t catch, was the use of the Iphone. I saw something about Mp3 things you can just automatically transfer, but I didn’t see the Iphone. Eventually, I would imagine that everyone will have a phone that is similar to the iphone in which you have all of your music on your cell phone/tv/calender/etc. and the whole point of buying ringtones will be obsolete. Maybe I’m wrong. But, nevertheless, it was an interesting article, and it’s an interesting phenomenon.

  16. jschwar7 Says:

    I always wondered what Beethoven would think now a days if he heard the his 5th Symphony coming from some-bodies pocket just the way he interpreted it in his mind when he wrote it. HA not. Only one little melody line. The look on his face would be priceless. Anyways as for ringtones, i’ve never really been able to grasp ahold of the concept of why people would spend 2 dollars or more on a clip of a song that plays for 25 seconds. As mentioned earlier, on itunes you can buy a song for 99 cents. Why waste your money and not even get the full song. That’s when I found out about Mobile17.com. You can send your own phone ringtones of any song for up to 40 seconds, and you can even choose where the song starts. You just have to already own the song and have it on your computer. I think the main reason that people choose Hip Hop ringtones the most, are just because most people have heard or a hip hop song even if you like it or not. Hip Hop is a popular dance type of music and at parties you always here it. MTV is big at promoting music as well and a lot of it is Hip Hop. So I think the author did a pretty good job explaining everything about how ringtones were initiated. I’m also pretty sure he’s correct by saying that polyphonic ringtones are going to not be around pretty soon.

  17. mus243 Matt Says:

    More great comments! I hope others have a chance to read these. Responding to bkenis, the lack of any mention of the iPhone is understandable once you realize that this piece was published nearly three years ago… It still feels very timely, however! I think SFJ is a great writer about music and hits all the points perfectly here: technology changed, expanding musical options, and the customizability created a market for money/creativity/cultural expression/etc.

    I have to say I also have a bit of an ulterior motive with our assignment… I have a phone that is easy to load rings onto, and I have been using student and self-made rings for years and have never bought one! Do it yourself!

  18. theresasteiner Says:

    I think this article shows how large of a part music plays in everyone’s daily life, especially for expressing themselves, and I like how technology is only furthering the ways in which someone can use music to make them more happy. Although this article applies to everyone, I think college students in particular are always looking for new ways to express themselves, and if that is through music on their phone, then that is great for music educators. I also think this proves that music and technology are intertwined because music cannot advance without technology, and it can reach huge amounts of audiences when used with technology.

    I have a personal ring tone, and I think mine says a lot about me. Although they are a little pricey for what you get (a 20 second clip of music), I think it is worth it. I have a fun way of expressing myself, and I get to listen to a great song every time my phone rings.

  19. glenneik Says:

    The article was neat – I loved the analogy between polyphonic jangles and silent movie scores. It’s accurate and humorous. Having not owned a cell phone until I was a freshmen in college, much of the timeline of ringtones is lost on me, but I know use a website run through T-Mobile that allows me to pluck any mp3 from my computer, put it in the website, and then they will send it to me via text message to download it as a ringtone. My phone is kind of old, so some things like the author said sound quite lo-fi and fuzzy, like guitar heavy rock and jazz.

    I also find the industry incredible. It’s insane that 30 second snippits of tunes you can hear every day on the radio can challenge full albums in terms of dollars and cents. After reading that though, I’m gonna go change my ringtone to something hipper.

  20. ccooman2 Says:

    This in a very interesting and enlightening article. I can’t even articulate how appalled I am that in *any* part of this world, a at most 30 second clip for a cell phone, outsells CD quality, full length recorded music. I myself have purchased two ringtones ($3 a piece), only later to realize that I keep (and prefer) my phone on vibrate. Ringtones can also easily be called nuisances too. When in public, why do we subject others to your ringtone, especially if the biggest selling tones are hip-hop?! Although you may think it is a helpful alert to when you have a phone call, it is simultaneously alerting everyone within 20 feet. We all rely on on cell phones and although they are an unmatched way of connectivity — people try to define who they are by what song their cell phone plays. I think we have we reached a point where “self expression” has hurt our appreciation for the art of music.

  21. qtip129 Says:

    This was a pretty cool article. i didn’t even think that ring tone profits would be in the billions of dollars, but alas, four billion in fact. it just goes to show how much people are willing to pay to hear “In da club” off of their cellphone.

    the other day my roommate said something intresting. we, as a society, listen to more music now in a day, than people in the 1800s listen to in their whole lives. and this article made me think of yet another way people listen to music, without even realizing it. as for me, i dont think i’ll make the $2 investment to hear music from my cell. it sucks too much anyways.

  22. mrhott123 Says:

    Its so cool to realize how much money is put into a stupid part of our lives. If you think about it, when your phone goes off, you don’t listen to the whole song, you usually hear the first 2 seconds max of the song, then pick up your phone. Its smart for the companies to charge, ringtones are a big hit. I like how ringtones give your phone a sense of personality, our individualaity, all for 2 dollars 🙂

  23. smcdona5 Says:

    Wow. Four billion dollars. The United States only accounted for three hundred million? I must say that it’s nice to know that the U.S. isn’t the biggest spender in this over-priced product. With that being said, I think my opinion of ring-tones is clear. I guess I am not one to spend two dollars on a snipet of a song when I can download the entire song for .99 on itunes. But I’m cheap and don’t really consider my ringtone to be a form of self-expression. I might live the luxurious life every once in a while and indulge and buy myself a new ringtone, but in general, I think it’s a waste of money.

    What this article reminded me of, though, is the pace at which technology changes! She was talking about how she had a new ringtone on an older phone, which, sounded “like a transistor radio turned up to ten and stuffed inside a sock.” Once she upgraded her phone, however, she heard music. Technology is always on the move. Between the changing phones, ipods, cameras, and computers (to name a few), it’s so hard to keep up!

  24. kkellner2 Says:

    I think its funny that majority of the younger generation is fascinated with being able to pu their favorite songs on their cell phones. I can’t believe thats 30 second ring tones can outsell a better quality recording on CDs, especially since there are many websites where you can get ring tones for free. I think ring tones are a great way to express express you personality. At the beginning of the school year my roommates and I found a new ring tone website, and managed to spend a few hours picking ring tones for our parents, and each other.

  25. emilyjayne Says:

    i remember back about six years ago when many cellphones came equipped with the most atrocious repertoire of butchered songs – joplin’s pine apple rag, beethoven’s infamous fur elise, etc etc. as if that was bad enough, cellphones now have the ability to allow users to select their own ringtones, which is why it’s pretty common to be aurally assaulted by some generic hip hop ringtone on any given day, no matter where you go. it’s simply an abuse of individualism that distracts people around you who don’t want to be subjected to your bad taste in (looped/annoying) music.

    nevertheless, i have been suckered into paying for ringtones before, and i won’t ever do it again. http://www.funformobile.com allows you to upload your own clips from audacity or whatever or browse for new ones if you don’t feel like editing your own. i get sick of hearing the same thing over and over again so i’m on there every few weeks looking for something new. i’m rocking the “sanford and son” theme song right now, because… if i’m going to annoy people in public i might as well have a little fun myself while i’m at it.

    Edit from Matt: I took a peek at the website Emily described. It may be easy to get ringtones, but I’d have to rank it a solid “shady” in terms of intellectual property. The model they are using would be paraphrased as such: ‘we let users put up content they own, and if a user lies and the actual copyright holder complains, we’ll take it down’. [This is similar to YouTube, although YouTube also attempts to keep users from downloading the movies, which makes it easier to “take back” content that violates ©.] Well, if you search “Sanford and Son” you’ll find 14 files uploaded by such luminaries as Dragonlord, crazzzy1, and fubu. It is highly unlikely that all 14 own the copyright to Sanford’s theme, and by downloading and using ringtones comprised of music or content you don’t have a license to use, you’d be liable for the same damages as downloading music ($150,000 per song). On the other hand, if you download a ring for a song from a CD you have paid for, saving the time and effort of editing a ringtone, you’re on much more solid ground.

    This would also be a suitable place to put your own ring once you’re done with it, if you feel like freely sharing it with the world. It would be interesting to see how many folks downloaded it, but I’m not sure that tracking is available.

    Users of the site, under the “Terms of Service” agree to the following:

    You agree to not use the Service to:
    upload, post, transmit or otherwise make available any Content that is unlawful, harmful, threatening, abusive, harassing, tortious, defamatory, vulgar, obscene, libelous, invasive of another’s privacy, hateful, or racially, ethnically or otherwise objectionable;
    upload, post, email, transmit or otherwise make available any Content that you do not have a right to make available under any law or under contractual or fiduciary relationships (such as inside information, proprietary and confidential information learned or disclosed as part of employment relationships or under nondisclosure agreements);
    upload, post, email, transmit or otherwise make available any Content that infringes any patent, trademark, trade secret, copyright or other proprietary rights (“Rights”) of any party;
    upload, post, email, transmit or otherwise make available any unsolicited or unauthorized advertising, promotional materials, “junk mail,” “spam,” “chain letters,” “pyramid schemes,” or any other form of solicitation;

  26. bsortal2 Says:

    The fact that the ring tone industry in Korea made more money than singles cd’s is mind boggling. Is that really what music has come to? I personally don’t have a ring tone, and am not against having one, but when people are buying them at a rate higher than they buy the actual songs, you know that popular music is in trouble. As many of you know, the golden age of popular hip hop 1987-1995 is long gone. It has since, and even more recently, become a watered down, lyrically predictable form of art, that at time is indistinguishable from the so called “boy-band” sound. Relating more to the article, there have been many hip hop purists and artists feed up with this new sound rap terming it “ring tone rap”, as a way of making fun of the way it sounds like its actually made for ring tones and the commercialization of it. It is funny how ring tone’s now have their own genre in hip hop. In 15 years it has gone from the music of a sub-culture to the music of the ring tone.

  27. beverso2 Says:

    I remember when my cell phone would literally ring. I started putting it on vibrate when all of my friends started getting new ringtones that actually sounded like music. It is amazing how much money ringtones are making, but this article made me thing about how many ringtones I have bought. I have acquired 6 ringtones over the last 8 months. This article made me realize that ringtone companies must be flourishing with the new technology. Still, I think this is a good thing. Although C.D. sales are down because of mp3’s, this is not hurting CD sales. The CD’s are not being bought regardless. At least the ringtones are giving some money back to the musicians.

  28. eskayve Says:

    I remember when one of my friends got a cell phone back in middle school and it amazed me that it played Beethoven’s Fifth. Now, looking back, it’s unbelievable to see just how far technology has come. It is so unbelievable how the ringtones on some phones can sound almost identical to the real song. The portion of the article about whether or not ringtones represent the song by playing the right clip of the song is definitely true, because if the ringtone plays a part that is not key, no one will want to buy it. Therefore, the people who make the ringtones must really know the music.

  29. oliver3 Says:

    I think the whole ring tone this is pointless. The fact that a 30 year old man would spend that much money on ring tones is astounding to me. I have never bought a ring tone and never plan to because not everything you own has to be a way to express yourself. I’m a big believer in functionality before design which is probably why I’ll never be a mac user. As far as people being upset by a lack of classical music or jazz on ring tone sites need to realize that the vast majority of radio and television stations that play music play rap and rock. It’s not a sign that our generation is uncultured, it’s just a sign that that’s the more popular musical form right now and there’s nothing wrong with that. The companies are producing what will be bought. It’s capitalism.

  30. kevinraschen Says:

    I found this to be a very interesting article. I think it is crazy that ring tones generated four billion dollars in sales around the world in 2004. The fact that people in the 30’s are wasting all this time and money trying to find a ring tone that fits them. I also can’t understand how the sales of ring tones are higher than CD sales. When you buy a CD you get the best possible quality and you get a lot more than a 30 sec. clip. As far as the technology goes, it is pretty amazing when you think back to your first cell phone and you were amazed by the fact it could play a few seconds of Für Elise.

  31. mcowen2 Says:

    I liked reading the article, i found it very interesting. It actually made me realize the money that i spend on ring tones. I spend a good amount of money on them because when a song that i like comes out, i usually get it as my ring tone. I also had one just for Christmas time. I was actually in Korea this past summer, and like said in the article, phones and ring tones is something extremely popular in Korea. My friends there all had numerous different kinds of ring tones there, no wonder they made so much money off of them. But I can also see it growing in the U.S. more now.

  32. lpence2 Says:

    I really liked this article! Ringtones are something that everyone has and spends money on. It was interesting to see how much money people actually spent on the ringtones and made me think about what else could be bought with that money! They are fun though, I have to admit. I used to have a ringtone for each of my friends that called me on a regular basis, but they got to be too much money! You think it’s O.K. because they’re usually only about $2.50 each, but they sure do add up. It’s nice that there is such a wide variety of ringtones so I can have my favorite song playing when someone calls! It’s really much more enjoyable than hearing a simple ring. I can definitely understand why ringtones are so popular all over the world.

  33. mattchez Says:

    I really liked the article. I really didn’t know that it was such a large business. The number they gave for number of downloads a year was insane. Its really enjoyable for me to put music not necessarily that I want to be judged by, but music that I like to listen to and that I would enjoy hearing umpteen times a day if people call me. The only thing I don’t like is that even though you might only hear a ring for 30 seconds, the clip they use is only 10 or 15, so the clip itself repeats. I wouldn’t mind hearing it continuous for 30 sec, or the next time you get a call starting where it left off after the last call.

  34. Eric Swanson Says:

    Cool article. I never realized how much thought some people put into choosing something as small as a ringtone, not to mention the desire for ringtone sound quality to increase over time. I wonder exactly how much money this industry pulls in every year now.

    I wouldn’t spend money on them myself, though. I was lucky enough to be able to get free ringtone packs from Windows Mobile to download onto my phone; the ringtones were pretty generic, but they sounded better than the ones my phone came with. It’s a bit time-consuming though, so I haven’t downloaded any lately.

  35. kditsch Says:

    This is a very interesting article. I had no idea that the ring tone industry has had such a big impact on our society. It is pretty crazy that there is 4 billion dollars made just from ring tones, where you only buy about 25 seconds of the song you are purchasing. I am a frequent buyer of ring tones for my phone, and all of these numbers surprised me. It never really occurred to me that I was spending so much. 2 dollars for a ring tone that last less than 30 seconds is a pretty big ripoff!

    I also found it interesting that record labels get a profit of 25% of ever master tone sale. Even though people are paying just 2 dollars for a ring tone, 25% of that is a lot! I was really glad that you had us read this article, and next time I will think a lot more about buying different ring tones just to have, and focus on one that I will keep for a long time.

  36. us243 Says:

    This article really taught me alot about the world of ringtone technology, fasinating! I can’t believe ringtones generate billions of dollars around the world. From Linux to Harmonium polyphonic tones have come a long way. Such a simple concept that is widly used by every person with a cell phone is a brilliant market.
    Now that technology is so much more available to this generation I’m sure the cell phhonemarket is going to suffer. I’m interested to see what the future holds for cell phones and music technology.


Leave a Reply

